Divisions & Sections

The UK Department of Surgery is composed of six divisions and, within General Surgery, six sections:

  • Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Dermatology
  • General Surgery
    • Colorectal Surgery
    • Endocrine Surgery
    • Gastrointestinal and Minimally Invasive Surgery
    • Surgical Oncology
    • Trauma, Acute Care, and Surgical Critical Care
    • Vascular and Endovascular
  • Pediatric Surgery
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Transplantation

Faculty in a number of these specialties also play a role in multidisciplinary centers, which draw together faculty and staff from several departments to enhance patient care and research. For example, Surgery's Section of Transplantation, which handles kidney, liver, and pancreas transplants, and the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery play essential roles in UK Hospital's Transplant Center. Other research and clinical centers with whom the UK Department of Surgery's faculty play significant roles include The Saha Cardiovascular Research Center, Markey Cancer Center, and Gill Heart Institute.

The Cardiothoracic Surgery, General Surgery, and Plastic Surgery divisions provide accredited residency and fellowship programs to train new specialists in the most advanced facets of surgical care. In the Center for Advanced Training & Simulation (CATS), faculty who specialize in laparoscopic surgery collaborate with engineers and specialists from other disciplines to improve instruments and training techniques.

Details about the Department of Surgery's clinical services through UK HealthCare may be found on the Patient Services page of this website.