About The UK Department of Surgery

About the UK Department of Surgery

The University of Kentucky Department of Surgery, under the direction of William B. "Barry" Inabnet, MD, The Johnston-Wright Endowed Professor and Chair of Surgery, is committed to providing the finest in patient surgical care, training the next generation of surgeons and medical researchers, and seeking a better understanding of disease and injury.

 The UK Department of Surgery is comprised of six divisions: General Surgery, Cardiothoracic Surgery, Transplantation, Plastic Surgery, Pediatric Surgery, and Dermatology. General Surgery and Plastic Surgery are subdivided into sections covering specific surgical specialties. 

 Our Divisions also play key roles in several University of Kentucky multidisciplinary centers, such as the Markey Cancer CenterGill Heart and Vascular InstituteThe Transplant Center, and the Saha Cardiovascular Research Institute, which draw together faculty and staff from several departments to enhance patient care and research.

The Center for Advanced Training & Simulation (CATS), faculty who specialize in laparoscopic surgery collaborate with engineers and specialists from other disciplines to improve instruments and training techniques.