New program recognizes residents for excellent teaching throughout the year

University of Kentucky third-year medical students praised the work of several dozen residents and fellows for demonstrating teaching excellence during the students’ first two surgery rotations. Those residents were given official recognition before their peers during surgery Grand Rounds early Wednesday morning as part of a new program for the 2019-20 academic year.

Dr. Cortney Lee

Dr. Cortney Lee, Surgery Clerkship Director, has implemented an excellence in teaching program to recognize residents and fellows who demonstrate outstanding teaching during the third-year surgery clerkship. Third-year medical students are asked to nominate one resident or fellow who best conveyed to them the fundamental competences of an aspiring physician.

Here is an example of a comment that a student has made regarding a resident-teacher.
“He took time to explain the concepts, talk through a shelf review, and practice for oral exams. He helped with note writing and patient presentations on rounds. Overall, he took a mentor role to students by letting us learn by doing and helping us find our own answers.”

Dr. Lee will continue to recognize these residents and fellows at Grand Rounds, presenting each with a golden apple pin to display proudly on their white coats. Recognition will occur at the end of each surgery block, six in total, throughout the academic year. 

Resident  teaches medical student suturing skills“The goal is to encourage excellent teaching throughout the year instead of only during the annual teaching awards in June. Education is one of the key foundations of our mission at the University of Kentucky, and it should be celebrated all year long,” said Dr. Lee. 

The following are award recipients and honorable mentions for the first two blocks:

Block 1 Recipients: Tori Wagner, Hannah McDonald, Nadia Romero, John Hahn, Sai Dalavayi, Kyle Bess, Tong Gan, Sam Walling, Jacob Elam, Kelsey Smith, Preston Leader, Jahan Miremami, Brittany Levy.
Block 1 Honorable Mentions: Ryan Neff, Robert-Marlo Bautista, Alex Wade, Tucker Kornegay, Joseph Wells, Meg Harper, Brent Hillard, Tyler Gunn, Erika Almodovar, Miriam Hewitt, Wesley Wilt.

Block 2 Recipients: Sai Dalavayi, Meg Harper, Wesley Wilt, Heath Brashear, John Hahn, Heather Sinner, Joseph Wells, Erika Almodovar, Tucker Kornegay, Mansi Shah, Gus Huerta, Sam Walling, Bryce Noblitt, Ashley Boustany, Peter Rodgers-Fischl.
Block 2 Honorable Mentions: Patrick Liebel, Shyanie Kumar, Robert Aru, Robert Marlo-Bautista, Corey Fitzgerald, Alex Wade, Travis Hughes, Rebecca Phillip.