General Surgery residents name 2017 award honorees

During the annual General Surgery Resident Roast last June, the resident classes named the following faculty and residents for 2017 awards.



Bobby C. Powell Award

Bobby Powell was a highly respected surgical house officer in this program. He was killed in a boating accident in 1976 during his third year.
This award is made by all PGY3-5 general surgery residents and goes to the outstanding intern. 

Dr. Brent Hillard

Dr. Brent Hillard

Gordon L. Hyde Award

Named for Dr. Gordon “Gordy” Hyde, past Chief of Vascular Surgery and Emeritus Professor.
This award recognizes a faculty member who has given of themselves the most to help residents professionally and personally.
The recipient is selected by the PGY4’s. 

Dr. Jitesh Patel

Dr. Jitesh Patel

Chief Residents’ Award

The graduating chiefs give this award to the faculty member who does the most to enhance the residents’ surgical skill.

Dr. Scott Roth

Dr. J. Scott Roth

Ward O. Griffen Award 

Named for our past chairman who is a leading surgical educator.  This is presented by the chief residents in recognition of exemplary teaching.

Dr. Cortney Lee and Dr. Melissa Newcomb

Dr. Cortney Lee and
Dr. Melissa Newcomb