Dr. Sandra Beck and Dr. Jitesh Patel officially inducted into ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators

Sandra Beck, MD, FASCRS, FACS, and Jitesh Patel, MD, FASCRS, FACS were inducted into membership of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Academy of Master Surgeon Educators during a virtual ceremony the ACS hosted on Friday, September 25. The ceremony inducted 50 new members in the third cohort of this prestigious academy.

Dr. Beck, professor and chief of the UK Colon and Rectal Surgery Division, has been Program Director of the University of Kentucky General Surgery Residency since 2016. A frequent recipient of Department of Surgery Excellence in Resident and Medical Student Teaching awards, Dr. Beck’s service as a surgical educator at UK culminated in the 2018 Richard W. Schwartz, MD, Leadership in Education Award, a lifetime achievement award in recognition of her tireless dedication and pursuit of excellence in surgical education. She also serves on the ACS Board of Governors, participates in outcomes research, and is active with multi-disciplinary groups to improve the care of colon and rectal surgery patients.

Dr. Patel, associate professor in the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery, has led a distinguished career as surgeon and surgical educator. He served several years as a Co-Director of the Department of Surgery Medical School Education program in charge of the fourth-year advanced internships. In 2018, Dr. Patel received the Ward O. Griffen Teaching Award for Excellence in Medical Student Education and in 2019 the UK College of Medicine Abraham Flexner Excellence in Medical Education Award. He is also a frequent recipient of awards of excellence in student and resident education. In addition to his busy surgical practice, Dr. Patel serves as the Associate Program Director of the General Surgery Residency Program and Program Director of the UK Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship.

“Dr Beck and Dr Patel are joining a prestigious group of internationally recognized surgical educators, an accomplishment which underscores their earnest commitment to education; their drive will go a long way to helping the Department of Surgery train the next generation of surgical leaders. ” said Dr. William B. Inabnet III, the Johnston-Wright Endowed Professor and Chair of Surgery at UK.

Master Surgeon Educators

Developed by the ACS Division of Education, the Academy recognizes surgeon educators who have devoted their careers to surgical education. Individuals are selected as Members, Associate Members, or Affiliate Members following stringent peer review. The Academy’s mission is to play a leadership role in advancing the science and practice of education across all surgical specialties, promoting the highest achievements in the lifetimes of surgeons.  Academy membership carries an obligation for commitment to the Academy’s goals, which are to identify, recognize, and recruit innovators and thought leaders committed to advancing lifelong surgical education; translate innovation into actions; offer mentorship to surgeon educators; foster exchange of creative ideas; disseminate advances in surgical education; and positively impact the quality of surgical care and patient safety. 

In addition to supporting the mission and goals of the Academy, members must actively participate in Academy programs and activities.  “This Academy of preeminent surgeon educators has been making landmark contributions to surgical education and is introducing many transformational changes in surgical education and training that will endure into the future,” said Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC, FSACME, Director of the ACS Division of Education and co-chair of the Steering Committee of the Academy.  “Over the past six months, from the early stages of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Academy has been addressing challenges and opportunities in surgery residency training resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic and other issues,” said Dr. Sachdeva.

For a listing of the full membership of the Academy, as well as those honored with selection in 2020, visit: https://www.facs.org/education/academy/member-list.