Dr. David Victor earns special recognition at 2018 Surgery Teaching Awards program

During the 2018 Surgery Teaching Awards program Wednesday morning, May 30, The UK Department of Surgery paid special tribute to Dr. David Victor, a retiring vascular and general surgeon from Morehead, Kentucky.

Surgery bestowed this honor to Dr. Victor in recognition of his work as a surgical educator to medical students and residents from the University of Kentucky. He is a founding partner of Cave Run Surgical Specialists in Morehead and provided vascular, thoracic, and general surgery services for nearly 34 years. Pertinent to his recognition at the awards program, Dr. Victor served 26 years as Director of Surgery – Resident Education at St. Claire Regional Medical Center in Rowan County.

As a token of the Department of Surgery’s respect and esteem, Dr. Victor received a silver mint julep cup. Presenting the award, Dr. Jay Zwischenberger, Chair of the UK Department of Surgery, commented on Victor’s career as a respected surgeon and an enduring influence on UK’s general surgery residents.

“If a resident was having trouble tying knots, David would send them back from Morehead as experts,” Zwischenberger said. “We will miss him as a colleague and faculty member.”

Dr. Katrina Winkler, a chief resident in UK General Surgery, also expressed her personal appreciation for Dr. Victor’s work. In addition to the education she received from him during training, Winkler said she enjoyed listening to his endless stories accumulated from all his years in surgery. Dr. Winkler will join Cave Run Surgical Associates as a general surgeon in the fall of 2018.

Dr. Victor extended his own thanks to the department faculty and residents for their support during his career. Though he is looking forward to retirement, he will miss the pleasure of training new surgeons in the field.

In addition to this special honor, the following residents and faculty received 2018 Teaching Awards:

Resident Awards for Excellence in Teaching, 2018

Resident Teaching Awards 2018

 Back row, left to right: Samuel Carmichael II, MD; Timothy Horrell, MD; John Schwabe, MD; Peter Stafford, MD; Duane Wang, MD; Patrick Hensley, MD; (front row) Erika Almodovar, MD; Shyanie Kumar, MD; Wayne Chang, MD; and Caroline Neff, MD. (Not pictured: Cheryl Richie, MD; Michael Kaufman, MD)

Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching, 2018

2018 Faculty Teaching Awards

John Draus, MD; Joshua M. Judge, MD; Lesley Wong, MD; Avinash S. Bhakta, MD; and Matthew Bush, MD.
(Not pictured: William Cavatassi, MD; Emily F. Marcinkowski, MD; Jonathan Kiev, MD; and Jay Michael Burton, MD)

2018 EAST Travel Scholarship

EAST Travel Scholarships

Presenting the 2018 EAST Travel Scholarship to Patrick Liebel, MD are, from left, Andrew Bernard, MD, Carol Wright, RN, and Cindy Talley, MD from the Critical Care Surgery and Trauma Section of the Division of General Surgery. Gustavo Huerta, MD is also a 2018 recipient of an EAST Travel Scholarship, but was unable to attend the awards program. 

Dr. Sandra Beck - 2018 Schwartz Award Winner

2018 Richard W. Schwartz Leadership in Education Award

Dr. Sandra Beck is the 2018 recipient of the  Richard W. Schwartz Leadership in Education Award. The award, named in honor of Dr. Richard Schwartz, is presented to a UK Department of Surgery faculty member in recognition of their tireless dedication and pursuit of excellence in surgical education. It is the highest teaching award the department sponsors and is generally considered a lifetime achievement award.
Dr. Beck was not able to attend the Department of Surgery Teaching Awards program. Dr. Jay Zwischenberger, Department Chair, presented Dr. Beck with the award at the Surgical Grand Rounds program on Wednesday morning, June 6. 

2018 Ben Eiseman Award

2018 Ben Eiseman Award for Excellence in
Resident Education

Melissa Newcomb, MD 

2018 Ward Griffen Award

2018 Ward O Griffen Award for Excellence in
Medical Student Education

Jitesh Patel, MD