UK HealthCare, Cincinnati Children’s Begin Pediatric Heart Surgery Program

Physicians with the UK HealthCare and Cincinnati Children’s Joint Pediatric Heart Surgery Program discussed the new program’s progress and success in providing advanced specialty care at Kentucky Children’s...

Tags -

Posted - Aug 4Read More

Two from Department of Surgery accept new positions

Lee Carol Greenwell dedicated 15 years of service to the University of Kentucky’s Division of General Surgery, and nearly two decades to the University of Kentucky; she has accepted a position outside the...

Tags -

Posted - Jul 21Read More

General Surgery residents name 2017 award honorees

During the annual General Surgery Resident Roast last June, the resident classes named the following faculty and residents for 2017 awards.AwardHonoreeBobby C. Powell Award Bobby Powell was a highly respected...

Tags -

Posted - Jul 20Read More

Dr. Cartwright earns runner-up finish in 2017 ICS research competition

Dr. Tessa Cartwright, chief fellow in the University of Kentucky’s division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, took second place honors in the 2017 Research Scholarship Competition sponsored by the International...

Tags -

Posted - Jul 18Read More

Dr. Michael Cavnar

UK welcomes new member to Surgical Oncology team

In late July, Dr. Michael J. Cavnar commenced his clinical practice in Surgical Oncology and General Surgery as a faculty member with the University of Kentucky’s Markey Cancer Center and the Department of...

Tags -

Posted - Jul 17Read More

New Vascular Surgeon to begin practice at end of July

The University of Kentucky’s Department of Surgery is pleased to welcome a new surgeon, Sam Tyagi, MD, to its vascular and endovascular surgery faculty beginning in late July 2017.Though born in Canada, by the...

Tags -

Posted - Jul 13Read More

The Saha Awards for Patient Centered Care presented to Clinical Nurse: Elizabeth Ober, Clinical Support: Greg Scott; Assistant Professor: Greg Yost; Ambulatory: Beth Coy. Featured with them are Bo Cofield, Dr. Sibu Saha, and Dr. Michael Karpf.

In The Loop: First annual Saha Awards recognize dedication to patient-centered care

FROM UK HealthCare IN THE LOOPClick Here for Original Story and SlideshowThe Saha Award for Patient-Centered Care, sponsored by the Saha Foundation, was established to honor health care providers who exhibit a...

Tags -

Posted - Jul 13Read More

UKnow: Family and Surgeon Work to Raise Awareness of Cleft Care, Repair Children in Third World

By Elizabeth Adams UKnowThe 20-week ultrasound appointment privileges parents to a sneak-peek of their baby growing inside the womb.First-time parents Anna (Seitz) and Evan Ciannello went into their 20-week...

Tags -

Posted - Jun 29Read More

A reception was held to honor CT Surgery Clinic providers and staff for winning the Patient Experience Award. Front row, from left: Bo Cofield, Dr. Sibu Saha, Peter Rodgers-Fischl, MD. Back row, from left: Cheri Wheat, Sam Carmichael, MD, Katie Tibbitts, Valerie Ogle, Lisa Richardson, Heather Madison, Brenda Wallace, Robin Jones, Dr. Jordan Miller, Barbara Wilson, Connie Dampier, Dr. Jonathan Kiev, and Keshia Prater.

The UK CT Surgery Clinic earns Patient Experience Award

The University of Kentucky Cardiothoracic Surgery Clinic earned the Patient Experience Award for the third quarter of 2017. It is the fourth time the clinic has won the award.The award, which is determined...

Tags -

Posted - Jun 29Read More

What Happens Next? - 2017 Chief Residents and Fellows

GENERAL SURGERYTamera Cox, MD will practice General Surgery at Carolinas Health Cleveland with Shelby Surgical Associates in Shelby, North Carolina.GENERAL SURGERYStacey Gutman, MD will practice General...

Tags -

Posted - Jun 28Read More

Trauma and Acute Care Surgery faculty present Dr. Timothy Horrell, center, with EAST travel scholarship. Joining him are faculty members Chris Culpepper, MD; Oscar Moreno Ponte, MD; Andrew Bernard, MD; Mack Drake, DO; and Cynthia Talley, MD.

Trauma – Acute Care Surgery faculty announce recipient of 2018 EAST travel scholarship

Trauma and Acute Care Surgery faculty present Dr. Timothy Horrell, center, with the annual EAST travel scholarship award. Joining him are faculty members Chris Culpepper, MD; Oscar Moreno Ponte, MD; Andrew...

Tags -

Posted - Jun 2Read More

Dr. Jon Kiev

Dr. Kiev is second thoracic surgeon to begin a UK practice in 2017

On May 1, the UK Department of Surgery welcomed Dr. Jonathan Kiev as the newest faculty member in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery. He is the second thoracic surgeon to join the division in 2017.Dr. Jon...

Tags -

Posted - Jun 1Read More

The UK Health Care Adult ECMO Transport Team went "live" earlier this year with a middle-of-the-night trip to Madisonville, Ky. From left to right: Aaron Harris, RN; Les Fryman, EMT-P; Chuck McLendon, CCP; Michael Sekela, MD

Collaboration Creates Innovative ECMO Transport Program

By Laura Dawahare for UKnow (Click to see UKnow article)LEXINGTON, KY. (May 26, 2017) — Technology plays an enormous role in advancing the quality and effectiveness of medical treatment.  New technology tends...

Tags -

Posted - Jun 1Read More

Jamie Ward, center, and Dr. Todd Cheever, Associate Dean of Student Affairs, top, were among those selected as honorary members of the class of 2017.

Ward named honorary member of 2017 medical school class

Jamie Ward, MPH, undergraduate surgery education coordinator with the Department of Surgery, was named an honorary member of the UK Medical School class of 2017. She wore cap and gown and joined her fellow...

Tags -

Posted - May 23Read More

The Recipients of the Faculty Awards in Teaching Excellene and the Ward O. Griffen Award recipients.

2017 teaching awards include recognition of a community faculty member

The Department of Surgery annual teaching awards presentation after Grand Rounds on May 3 included recognition of many faculty and residents. The department excels in educational efforts, as demonstrated by...

Tags -

Posted - May 22Read More

Evers Elected to Association of American Physicians

University of Kentucky Surgical Oncologist Dr. Mark Evers was recently elected into the Association of American Physicians (AAP). AAP is a nonprofit organization founded for the purpose of advancing scientific...

Tags - Awards and Recognition, Faculty, Surgery, Markey Cancer Center

Posted - May 12Read More